According to a post on its blog, Google as of today is allowing users to block sites as they surf.
“You’ll start seeing a new option to block particular domains from your future search results. ”
“Now when you click a result and then return to Google, you’ll find a new link next to “Cached” that reads “Block all example.com results.”
“Once you click the link to “Block all example.com results” you’ll get a confirmation message, as well as the option to undo your choice. ”
“You’ll see the link whether or not you’re signed in, but the domains you block are connected with your Google Account, so you’ll need to sign in before you can confirm a block.”
“Once you’ve blocked a domain, you won’t see it in your future search results.”
“The next time you’re searching and a blocked page would have appeared, you’ll see a message telling you results have been blocked, making it easy to manage your personal list of blocked sites. This message will appear at the top or bottom of the results page depending on the relevance of the blocked pages.”
You can see a list of your blocked sites in a new settings page, which you can access by visiting your Search Settings or clicking on the “Manage blocked sites” link that appears when you block a domain. On the settings page you can find details about the sites you’ve blocked, block new sites, or unblock sites if you’ve changed your mind.
“We’re adding this feature because we believe giving you control over the results you find will provide an even more personalized and enjoyable experience on Google. In addition, while we’re not currently using the domains people block as a signal in ranking, we’ll look at the data and see whether it would be useful as we continue to evaluate and improve our search results in the future. ”
“The new feature is rolling out today and tomorrow on google.com in English for people using Chrome 9+, IE8+ and Firefox 3.5+, and we’ll be expanding to new regions, languages and browsers soon. We hope you find it useful, and we’ll be listening closely to your suggestions.”
It could be argued that the mostly likely sites to be blocked are parked pages, adult sites and/or sites users do not find useful.
If anyone in a household blocks a site it will prevent it from being seen by anyone else unless each user has their own Google account and logs in and out each time the computer is used.
I guess that’s true for any shared computers.