RightoftheDot/4.CN Domain Auction from DOMAINfest.asia is Live & Over 30% Have Bids

The online auction that RightoftheDot.com along with 4.CN are holding, in conjunction with DOMAINfest.asia, went live yesterday  afternoon and out of the 531 domain names in the auction, as of publication 165 of them have  bids which over 30% of the domains in the auction. Moreover 50 of the 165 domain names with bids have more than one bid. There are 14 days to go to auction starts to … [Read more...]

Thomson Reuters Acquires Premium Domain Name TR.com

According to whois records, MarkMonitor's parent company, Thomson Reuters has acquired the premium two letter domain name TR.com from Wolters Kluwer US. Wolters Kluwer has owned TR.com since August 2005 and was using the domain name for Telecommunications Reports under the business name CCH Incorporated. Thomson Reuters Corporation is a major multinational mass media and information firm … [Read more...]

Minds + Machines Picks Up $3.5 Million For Withdrawing New gTLD Apps For .Art & .Data

Minds + Machines (LSE:MMX), today announced the Company has gained, in aggregate, net proceeds of over $3.5 million (approximately £2.3 million) for withdrawing its applications for .data and .art. The new gTLD .Art was won by UK Creative Ideas beating 9 other applicants in a private auction including Minds + Machines .Data is still showing on ICANN site as being in contention between Minds … [Read more...]

.Online Breaks All New gTLD Records With 28,000 Registrations in 1st 30 Minutes

Radix the registry behind .Online entered General Availability earlier today announced that .Online has smashed the record for a new gTLD launch by registering 28,000+ domains in the first 30 minutes itself. After a stellar Sunrise performance, .online closed with 1,130 Early Access Program (EAP) orders, the highest number of EAP registrations recorded by any new gTLD domain … [Read more...]

Pop Artist, Songwriter, Producer & DJ Calvin Harris Files UDRP on CalvinHarris.com

British born music artist Calvin Harris has filed a UDRP on the domain name CalvinHarris.com Calvin Harris is a songwriter, record producer, remixer and DJ and his  second studio album, Ready for the Weekend, which debuted at number one on the UK Albums Chart and earned a gold certification from the British Phonographic Industry within two months of release. Its lead single, "I'm Not Alone", … [Read more...]

GeekWire Looks at the brands using .News

Sometimes when you read an article on a technology website you need to make sure the author is not related to the company in a sponsored content or guest blogger type deal. Many times when I read new gtld stories I see these types of articles, nothing wrong with them but they don't carry any weight since the author has a vested interest in promoting the topic. I read an article on GeekWire that … [Read more...]

Domain Movers: Avia.com, Prelaunch.com, Protect.com & More Domains

Welcome to the ever exciting Domain Movers where I detect domain names on the move for one reason or another. The vast majority of these domain name movements are by some of the largest companies in the world! Some are just valuable domain names in general and startups also join the mix! These are often early detection's that are being reported for the first time and often lead to new brands, … [Read more...]