Spam Alert: sandie.cao@gmail.com Is Spamming Offers

2012 February 15
by Michael H. Berkens

Overnight I got about 50 offers all from the same email address, sandie.cao@gmail.com.

All of the offers had the identical language except for the domain name:

“”Hi,

I’m working on a startup and am interested in purchasing a domain name you own.

I saw that you have ……..com, and wanted to reach out to see if you were interested
in parting with the name. If you’re open to selling it, please let me know.

Thanks,
Sandie”"

 

Obviously the only business they are “starting up” is trying to buy good domains for way under value.

15 Responses leave one →
  1. 2012 February 15

    I got the same bullshit from theses FAKERS!

  2. 2012 February 15
    Michael H. Berkens permalink

    well now its in Google news if anyone cares to check

    ))::

  3. 2012 February 15
    Ron permalink

    The sheer size of your portfolio, and the quality within makes you a target, which is very sad. It is even worse that solid domainers get bundled into the same club as these morons, within the general public.

  4. 2012 February 15
    BrianWick permalink

    My Responses were :
    “If you are asking us to sell you the domain, I suppose I might take a couple hundred bucks. What do you think?

  5. 2012 February 15

    Don’t like, there was a second there when you first opened your inbox and you were excited, just for a split second before you doubted it or realized it was a load.

  6. 2012 February 15

    I received a bunch from “Katy Wu” yesterday, too. Similar type of script (coming for domains that single-word domains that begin with ‘S’). There have been a lot of indiscriminate spammers lately. It’s great to see others calling them out.

    Where possible, I try to complain to their webhosting companies (i.e. abuse departments). That gets their attention. The smarter domain spammers filter my email addresses from their spam lists.

  7. 2012 February 15

    Ditto on Katy Wu.

  8. 2012 February 15

    P.S. Brian’s tactic can be fun, too. It can be like Nigerian scam baiting, to toy with them and get their hopes up that they have a “mark.” Instead, they’re the ones whose time will be wasted on an impossible mission.

    I think there’s a market opportunity for someone to create an “entertainment” site where they have fun pretending that they’re going to sell their domain name for pennies on the dollar to a spammer. Record calls, emails, pictures, draft contracts, etc. — it could be amusing….

  9. 2012 February 15
    BrianWick permalink

    Hi George,
    What about the ongoing 2-3 unauthorized GoDaddy transfers at any given time during the year. Not exactly spam but more of the same unnerving BS that goes along with the business.

  10. 2012 February 15

    Brian: Yep, I’ve called out GoDaddy multiple times on Twitter because of that (and been shouted at for complaining). They’ve *still* not done the simple thing like putting in their automated emails the full info (name, email, phone number, etc.) of who is making the transfer request, or even just the IP address.

    I’ve even had multiple requests to authenticate SSL certificates by GoDaddy. i.e. someone wanted to create a SSL certificate for one of my domain names! I complained to GoDaddy about that too, but not a single response (they might have blocked my email address by now).

  11. 2012 February 15
    Nacho Domain permalink

    It’s really been getting bad the last three months or so. I’ve never seen it like this in all my years Online.

  12. 2012 February 15

    I responded asking Sandie for a full frontal. She never wrote back.

  13. 2012 February 15

    I got it too. I wrote back: send your offer and phone number. I havent heard back.

  14. 2012 February 15
    Ron permalink

    These people are selling expiring domains as their own anyone know who they are?

    —————————————-
    Hi, I represent the owner of xxxxxxxxxxxxx, and they have decided to auction the domain, or sell it outright. Would you or your company be interested in owning this domain?

    Matthew Biesinger
    Domain Broker
    801.770.0861
    mbiesinger@domainmarket.com

    —————————————-

    I thought domainmarket.com was owned by a well known domainer, but they are doing what intrust does everyday, trying to sell me a domain they do not even own, SERIOUSLY don’t you have enough money!

  15. 2012 February 16
    LindaM permalink

    One way of looking at the MHB portfolio in this instance is a target, but now it is acting as early warning system. Good one.

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Please copy the string cEFSJe to the field below: