MGM Files Federal Trademark Lawsuit Over Poker Domains

2011 December 2
by Michael H. Berkens

According to Vegasinc.com, MGM Resorts International filed suit in the U.S. District Court in Las Vegas on Thursday against four individuals and two companies it claims have been infringing on its trademarks by registering poker website names that include the names of MGM casinos in Las Vegas.

The lawsuit alleging trademark infringement was against the owners of:

bellagioonlinepoker.com

circuscircuspoker.com

excaliburpoker.com

luxorpoker.com

mandalaybayonlinepoker.com

mgmpoker.com

ariapoker.com

In The complaint MGM alleges that the registrants of the names intended to profit off the casinos’ “substantial fame, goodwill and consumer recognition.

“The defendants have or have had a bad faith intent to profit from their registration of the domain names,” charges the suit, which alleges the defendants have been involved in either “cybersquatting” — the use of other’s trademarks to earn a profit online — or trademark infringement, or in some cases both.

“The defendants have done nothing more than tack on the descriptive terms ‘poker’ or ‘online poker’ to each of the MGM marks to form the domain names. Accordingly, there is no question that the domain names are confusingly similar to the MGM marks,” MGM Resorts’ attorneys said in a request for a temporary restraining order that would block the defendants from using those names.

MGM owns the Bellagio, Mandalay Bay, Aria, The Luxor, Circus Circus, the Excalibur and of course MGM casinos and resorts.

The defendants are:

• Shahram Kolahzadeh, believed to be a resident of Zimbabwe who allegedly registered the ariapoker name.

• Evan Krentzman of Woodland Hills, Calif., allegedly the owner of the bellagioonlinepoker name.

• Roberto Ciamillo of Shelby Township, Mich., allegedly the owner of the circuscircuspoker name.

• Adam Majewski of McKinney, Texas, allegedly the owner of the excaliburpoker.com name.

• PokerSons, an entity based in London that allegedly owns the luxorpoker.com and mgmpoker.com names.

• RevNet, an entity in Hackensack, N.J., that allegedly owns the mandalaybayonlinepoker.com name.

9 Responses leave one →
  1. 2011 December 2
    BrianWick permalink

    This kind of blatant stuff – Commercial or non-Commercial – has been off limits for around 10 years. Furthermore, it is this kind a stuff that makes owners of an otherwise generic, common use or geographic use domain – a “cybersquatter” in the eyes of a udrp panel and maybe even some ACPA Courts.

    Blatant Commercial infringement like this needs to be prosecuted fully – good for MGM.

  2. 2011 December 2

    Thats why I go generic like OnlineGamingNevada.Com I got it because it is a broader generic name.

  3. 2011 December 2
    dcmike77 permalink

    These are just parked names.

    Wow – what CRIMINALS they must be (sigh)

  4. 2011 December 2

    They’ve been filing such suits for years.

  5. 2011 December 2
    Dean permalink

    This is a no-brainer, why attach anything to a trademarked name or brand? it’s only asking for trouble.

  6. 2011 December 3

    If you are going to register or buy poker/casino names, then either go for generic keyword or brandable domains. I hope those guys learned their lesson.

  7. 2011 December 4
    dmpartners permalink

    These sites are just landing pages to nothing What a waste of time. No revenue no Casino nothing Im sure if MGM called them and demanded the sites they would have gotten them. This is BS

  8. 2012 January 1
    hmm permalink

    if that were true, im sure they would have transfered them to avoid a court hearing dmpartners

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. MGM Files Federal Trademark Lawsuit Over Poker Domains | Entrepreneur

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Please copy the string 6qMjSI to the field below: