Federal Court Awards Domain Holder Common Law Trademark Right & Orders Registrar To Return Domains

2010 November 18
by Michael H. Berkens

In what could be one of the most important legal decisions of the year for domain holders, the US District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia ruled that a domainer hold acquired common-law trademark rights by simple ownership and usage in domain names he owned, even though they corresponded to well-known trademarked  brand names.

The ruling for domain holders is a result of  a default judgment.

Here’s the deal.

According to the complaint:

Warren Weitzman, is a domainer who owns and parks some 12,000 domain names.

He filed suit against his registrar, Lead Networks, over 22 domain names, 21 of which were .com’s.

Lead Networks is located in India.

He filed the case in Virgina claimed in rem jurisidication against .com registry and the .org registry under the Anti-cybersquatting Consumer Protection Act (ACPA).

He claimed that the domain names were “extremely valuable earning in excess of $2,000 a month from parking and were worth in excess of $2,000,000″.

In his complaint he alledged that the registrar had “taken control of his domains” and was in fact parking the domain names themselves.

It is not clear from the complaint why the domains were “taken” by the registrar so I guess anything is possible including for non-payment of renewal fees,” or taking them because they violated there terms of service.

Unfortunately because the complaint is silent as the reason of why the domains were taken and since the registrar never answered the complaint, there is simply no information in the court record on this.

The domainer simply alleged that the registrar took control of his property and was now parking his domains and making the money he used to make and asked the court to award him the domains back.

From the complaint:

“Weitzman through the use of the subject marks in commerce for many years has common law rights in the subject marks”

“Lead Networks is in violation of his rights”

“Weitzman property entered into contract with his registrar, is the owner of each of the domain names and used each domain in a lawful manner”

The court upon not receving an answer from the defendant regsitrar order VeriSign and PIR the .Org registry to transfer the domains back to the domain holder.

In effect, Weitzman had succeeded in arguing that his disputed names had earned common-law rights.

The issue that has the trademark groups all hot and bothered is that some of the domain at issue were typos of famous trademarks.

The domains at issue were

belis.com

epsun.com

helmsley.com

pirreli.com

vespas.com

gunit.com

reabok.com

redroof.org

daffy.com

fivebars.com

mascaron.com

livs.com

oncologics.com

profesia.com

remolacha.com

satz.com

sunlet.com

Vitallium.com

zire.com

For me the case raises a lot of questions.

Why were the domains taken by the registrar?

Why did an ICANN accredited registrar fail to respond to a lawsuit filed in federal court?

Does such action disqualify a registrar from being accredited and if not, why not?

How could these set of domains generated $2k a month parked and based on the set of 22, who valued them at $2 million dollars?

17 Responses leave one →
  1. 2010 November 18

    I believe that Lead Networks accreditation was not renewed last year and they were placed into receivership earlier this year. That may have something to do with why there was no response.

  2. 2010 November 18
    MHB permalink

    Kellie

    Ok that answers some of my questions

    thanks

  3. 2010 November 18

    The Ugland House looks like an upscale hotel, an angular, colorful building just blocks from the spectacular beaches of Grand Cayman.

    But to Barack Obama, it is nothing more than a flophouse for thieves and cheats.

    “You’ve got a building in the Cayman Islands that supposedly houses 12,000 corporations,” he said during a Jan. 5, 2008, debate in Manchester, N.H. “That’s either the biggest building or the biggest tax scam on record.”

  4. 2010 November 18

    good for us. god bless us all… everyone.

  5. 2010 November 18

    Interesting news, but will a default judgment really lead to any solid precedent for domainers? My thinking is no. Nonetheless, it’s nice to read about a little victory like this.

  6. 2010 November 18
    Landon White permalink

    Registerfly deaja Vu …

    At the request of the receiver appointed by the United States District Court for the Central District of California in the action titled Verizon California Inc., et al v. Lead Networks Domains Private Limited et al, ICANN has agreed to terminate the Lead Networks accreditation effective 19 August 2010.

    Lead Networks will no longer be permitted to register or manage gTLD registrations once the termination becomes effective.
    In order to promote the community interest

    =====

    ICANN accredited LOGO ..STILL UP on top,
    looks like site is still resolving ….

    Seems like they are still OPEN
    for more monkey business > leadnetworks.com

  7. 2010 November 18
    Adam permalink

    If these names were making money we all know why.

    This case reminds me of the case of the drug dealer who called the cops to tell them he was robbed and his stash was stolen.

  8. 2010 November 18

    Even if this guy got his domain name backs through an In Rem procedure he best be prepared to show how he has any common law rights in brand names that have been in existence years before the Internet. Apparently, Verizon sued him and others under ACPA but the case seems to be in the process of settling. Guess who the registrar was?

  9. 2010 November 18
    Landon White permalink

    A little Birdie told me it was … Net…. Sol……. :-)

  10. 2010 November 18

    “brand names that have been in existence years before the Internet”

    names such as FrontierLand?
    does Davy Crockett still own that one ?

    “Zynga rides social wave with new CityVille game”
    Computerworld
    “Online gaming firm Zynga has made a name for itself by enabling Facebook users to grow crops, build criminal empires and clear frontierland.”

  11. 2010 November 18
    Einstein permalink

    “Weitzman through the use of the subject marks in commerce for many years has common law rights in the subject marks”

    Yeah, sure you do: Helmsley, G Unit, Vespa, Reebok, Red Roof…all your brands

  12. 2010 November 18
    MHB permalink

    Hey the court entered the judgment giving him back the domains

  13. 2010 November 18
    Domo Sapiens permalink

    poetic justice at it’s best…
    for all the reverse hijack attempts…

    He fought this one for a long time… it happened at the same time he suffered another major theft, I believe out of Enom accounts … a case for true forensics.
    Beware of Outsourcing abroad…. for what I understand.
    (Funny for some people the USA might be their “abroad”)

  14. 2010 November 18
    Einstein permalink

    MHB, that’s because no one contested it, wasn’t it a ruling by default?

    Now Reebok etc might just knock on his door and ask for the names, profits made and $100K

  15. 2010 November 19

    Not sure that this would change anything for him under a UDRP proceeding. Hey may be able to point to the default judgment and say “I got rights!” but are they legitimate? Typo squatting on trademarks? Probably not. Still, interesting decision.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Federal Court Awards Domain Holder Common Law Trademark Right & Orders Registrar To R
  2. World Spinner

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Please copy the string THCc4D to the field below: