Wiley Rein Files Suit Over 14 Stolen Domain Names: 9 Are 3 Letter .com’s

The law firm of Wiley Rein this week filed a federal lawsuit on behalf of an e-commerce company that had 14 domain names stolen by computer hackers based in China from a Godaddy Account. The case, Acme Billing Company v. John Doe, was filed on October 21, 2014 in the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia by David Weslow of Wiley Rein LLP. The domain names mentioned in … [Read more...]

High Court in the UK: ISP Must Block Sites Selling Counterfeit Goods

According to Theguardian.com, The High Court in the UK has ruled that Internet Service Providers (ISP) must try to block sites selling counterfeit goods at their own cost. "The case was brought by luxury brands in the Richemont/Cartier group, demanding that the UK’s five major ISPs – BSkyB, BT, EE, TalkTalk, and VirginMedia – block six websites sporting fake versions of their brands and … [Read more...]

WARNING: Stolen Domain Names Slash.com & County.com Are Being Shopped Around

We have received a report from Andrew Rosener of MediaOptions.com that at least two domain names, Slash.com & County.com have been stolen from NetworkSolutions.com and are being shopped around for sale. In a email Andrew wrote: "I wanted to notify everyone that we have just discovered a domain theft at Network Solutions which I do not believe is an isolated incident." "So far it … [Read more...]

Bob Olea: “Any Domain Seized, Not Owned By Defendant Will Be Returned”

Good news for anyone who had domain names seized by Verisign as part of an ongoing case who are not related to the defendant in that case. The court appointed receiver Bob Olea sent me an email yesterday to the effect that domain that were not owned by the defendant of the case will be returned to their owners. We wrote about around 5,000 domain names that we seized by Verisign related to a … [Read more...]

Marchex Files Federal Suit Over UDRP On Banco24horas.com and Banco24horas.net

Marchex Sales Inc, filed a Federal Lawsuit in the Eastern District of Virginia today over the domain names, banco24horas.com and banco24horas.net which were awarded in a UDRP to Tecnologia Bancaria S.A. of Brazil. The lawsuit is for Reverse Domain Hijacking and for Declaratory Relief Under the Lanham Act 15 USC 1114(2)(d)(iv)-(v) & For Tortious Interference with a Contract. In addition … [Read more...]

2 Texas DUI Lawyers Battle Over Trademarked Domains: DontBlow.com Vs. DoNotBlow.com

TexasLawyer.com reported on a dispute between Tyler Flood, a Houston DUI lawyer who filed a lawsuit against The Law Offices of Mark Hull, based in Austin for trademark infringement over a domain name. "Flood alleges that the Hull firm violated his trademark, DoNotBlow.com which he alleges he began using in 2006 but didn't register with te USPTO until 2013 by using the "confusing and similar" … [Read more...]

As Many As 5K .Com’s Taken Away By Sealed Court Order By Verisign Including Some Of Mine

Overnight I received a notice that several domain names I owned were transferred by a sealed court from Verisign without notice and of course without the court order. The domain names just were transferred by Verisign to another domain and are now listed for sale at another marketplace. Another domainer sent me an identical notice he received overnight on domain names he owned. The Domain … [Read more...]