A Pure Drop Domain Formerly Owned By Verisign, ePhoto.com Sells On SnapNames.com For $16K

2012 February 8
by Michael H. Berkens

The domain name ePhoto.com just sold on SnapNames.com for $16,000.

The high bidder’s ID was Maxbid.

In all there were 174 bidders in the auction with 7 bidding $5K or more.

The domain name ePhoto.com was a pure drop domain, meaning it didn’t drop to a certain service, and could have been caught by anyone.

According to DomainTools appears to have been last owned by Verisign and registered at melbourneit.com.

Whether Verisign actually owned the domain or took possession of it years ago on an earlier drop, and why they would simply allow it to drop again is anyone’s guess.

According to Screenshots.com the domain has been parked for a number of years.

Here is the old whois record:

Domain Name.......... ephoto.com
  Creation Date........ 1995-10-18
  Registration Date.... 2009-09-27
  Expiry Date.......... 2011-11-19
  Organisation Name.... Verisign Inc.
  Organisation Address. 21355 Ridgetop Circle
  Organisation Address.
  Organisation Address. Dulles
  Organisation Address. 20166
  Organisation Address. VA
  Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

Admin Name........... Verisign Hostmaster
  Admin Address........ Verisign, Inc.
  Admin Address........ 21345 Ridgetop Circle
  Admin Address........ Dulles
  Admin Address........ 20166
  Admin Address........ VA
  Admin Address........ UNITED STATES
  Admin Email.......... vshostmaster@verisign.com
  Admin Phone.......... +1.7039484300
  Admin Fax............ +1.7039484331

Tech Name............ Melbourne IT Tech
  Tech Address......... 636 Ellis Street
  Tech Address.........
  Tech Address......... Mountain View
  Tech Address......... 94043
  Tech Address......... CA
  Tech Address......... UNITED STATES
  Tech Email........... tech@melbourneitdbs.com
  Tech Phone........... +1.8669073267
  Tech Fax............. +1.6509633266
  Name Server.......... f4.nstld.com
  Name Server.......... g4.nstld.com
  Name Server.......... l4.nstld.com
  Name Server.......... a4.nstld.com
9 Responses leave one →
  1. 2012 February 8

    I wonder when will iphoto.com drop :D

  2. 2012 February 8
    SEm permalink

    That domain is worth a LOT of money. Probably around $100,000 by itself ie no website. Kudos to the winner. He/she got a great deal.

  3. 2012 February 8
    Josh permalink

    She dropped because someone dropped the ball. I cannot believe how horrible employees can be and still have a job. Can you imagine someone asking you to pass along a message to your boss and you blow it off? Can you imagine your boss find out they lost several grand because f it?

    Unreal!

  4. 2012 February 8
    Snoopy permalink

    If this name was worth 100k it wouldn’t have ended at 16k. Sounds impressive if a bit “last decade”.

  5. 2012 February 9

    SEm

    Apparently 174 people were awake enough to be in the auction for a dropped name. No doubt just one of them felt that $16,000 was a bargain.

    Only 7 of them were “serious” but I rather think others would have noticed a $100K name dropping.

  6. 2012 February 9
    SEm permalink

    @ Snoop

    Ever heard of “digital photography”?

    Perhaps I should clarify. I think end-user is around $100000 (although the sky is the limit) and reseller is around $25000.

    Still think $16000 is a deal.

  7. 2012 February 9

    WOW, The domain name ePhoto.com just sold on SnapNames.com for $16,000.

  8. 2012 February 9
    Don permalink

    I actually saw this domain was available, and had hesitated to register it because I was concerned about a UDRP/TM issue. The uspto.gov site showed that there were no live marks for the name. However, I did find there is an active company in California with the name “ePhoto, Inc.” Eventually, I decided to go for it, but by then it was too late – someone else already snatched it. Lesson learned – don’t hesitate. I can always drop it during the grace period if I determine it’s going to be problematic.

  9. 2012 February 9
    Jack permalink

    This domain was using private registration services from VeriSign DBMS, which is now owned by Melbourne IT DBS (contact email in whois). This is a corporate domain management company similar to MarkMonitor and CSC. I am *guessing* the company/owner removed the domain from VeriSign/Melbourne management and never updated the contact info to receive the expiration notice.

    I know a lot of great domains ended up at Tucows from corporate clients that didn’t update their contact info after removing them from managment.

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Please copy the string SWI7GH to the field below: