Plans For The Amy Winehouse Foundation Announced Before Domains Are Secured & Now The Family Has A Problem

2011 August 22
by Michael H. Berkens

So shortly after Amy Winehouse’s death her father Mitch Winehouse announced that he would be setting up the Amy Winehouse Foundation to help young people struggling with addiction.

However he failed to secure the domain name and guess what?

amywinehousefoundation.com was registered on July 26th as was amywinehousefoundation.co.uk

According to the BBC is was the same day that Amy’s father announced at her daughter’s funeral that he was going to set up the foundation.

amywinehousefoundation.com is going to an under construction page, while amywinehousefoundation.co.uk is going to a DomainSponsor parked page

amywinehousefoundation.org was registered on July 31st and is parked with Fabulous.

Amywinehousefoundation.org.uk was registered just on August 11th.

THEAMYWINEHOUSEFOUNDATION.COM was registered on August 5th.

I’m not sure what domain name Amy’s dad Mitch was hoping to use for the foundation, as of publication I see the .net .eu and .Co are available for registration (don’t any of you do it)  but for now it looks like Mitch has some UDRP’s in his future.

13 Responses leave one →
  1. 2011 August 22

    it’s simple, just use amywinehouse.com (that, I suppose, is owned by them)

  2. 2011 August 22
    Alan permalink

    It’s like seeing a person drop dead and then picking his pocket………………

  3. 2011 August 22

    This is a shame that someone nabbed these domains, especially when it relates to a real tragedy for the family. Things like this just deepen the sense of loss. Not to mention giving legit domain investors a bad name by association.

  4. 2011 August 22
    Too Legit to quit permalink

    “Not to mention giving legit domain investors a bad name by association.”

    Legit domain investors? Whats that?

  5. 2011 August 22

    That a good one…legit websites? legit Bankers

    ***********************************

    Legit domain investors? Whats that?

    Legit domain investors is one who register BS domains and then resell you at more BS money

  6. 2011 August 22

    These are cybersquatters. Indefensible.

  7. 2011 August 22

    This is the type of thing in the domain world that disgusts me.

    Brad

  8. 2011 August 22

    Are we certain these owners are even holding them for a ransom?

    We need more information before we know what their intent is.

    It’s possible they are just waiting for the appropriate principals to contact them for a voluntary transfer as a good will gesture.

  9. 2011 August 22
    LS Morgan permalink

    It’s possible they are just waiting for the appropriate principals to contact them for a voluntary transfer as a good will gesture.
    —–

    Translation: I’m going to cybersquat them, but if the rightful mark holders contact me, I’ll give it back and pretend my intentions were ‘noble’ all along.

  10. 2011 August 22

    @LS – I guess it’s too soon to say for sure until we officially hear that there indeed is a dispute.

  11. 2011 August 22

    I don’t think squatters deserve the benefit of the doubt.

    Brad

  12. 2011 August 22
    Michael permalink

    The Sun has the story as well. The domain owner says:

    “She’s not the only Amy Winehouse in the world.”

    http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/3767972/Rat-hijacked-Amy-Winehouse-site.html

  13. 2011 August 23

    Yeah, he’s going with the old “NBA could mean National Bible Association!” defense.

    What’s that old saying about defenses? You’re allowed to present one, no matter how ridiculous, but that doesn’t mean that people are obliged to believe it.

    I hope they pursue damages and take everything they can from him.

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Please copy the string DDGbj3 to the field below: