SCAM ALERT: ICANN UNDER PHISHING ATTACK AND THERE AFTER YOUR DOMAINS

2008 June 23
by MHB

I just received this message in my inbox, which looks like its from ICANN.

You will be getting one too soon.

Looks like a very sophisticated and organized phishing attack.

They are not using an obviously fake web address.

They are using the domain Icannresolve.com

All the links on the page go back to Icann.org and resolve properly, however they are trying to trick you into entering your domain name, user id and password including the registrar the domain is registered with.

The domain is registered at enom under privacy.

Icann.org is registered at register.com and their contact info is correct.

Icann.org would not send such a notice out.  it makes no sense and they would use Icann.org not a brand new  .com that was registered 10 days ago.

THIS IS A DANGEROUS SCAM.   DO NOT FALL FOR THIS, DO NOT INPUT YOUR INFO, THEY WILL STEAL YOUR DOMAIN.

Here is the letter you will receive

Be very careful here.

Dear Domain Account Holder,

You are being sent this notice from ICANN due to the fact that you currently own an active domain name. ICANN is currently upgrading all domains from their registry database.

The upgrade will introduce new control options for your domain and easier access. The new upgrade is required by the registry. All domain users are expected to submit their domain information manually at http://www.icannresolve.com/email/link.php?M=1436&N=5&L=1&F=T with the required information for ICANN to apply the required updates.

The upgrades will be applied to accounts on a first come, first serve basis. You have until July 25, 2008 to submit the required information to avoid service and domain interruption.

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

ICANNResolve

ICANN.org Resolutions Department

  • Share/Bookmark
9 Responses leave one →
  1. 2008 June 23
    Hugh permalink

    Excellent work Michael

  2. 2008 June 23

    It seems the domain name is now redirecting to an invalid domain name and doesn’t resolve.

    Maybe they got scared? Maybe enom did something?

  3. 2008 June 24
    admin permalink

    I reported it to enom, firefox and Google as soon as I saw it.

  4. 2008 June 24

    Thanks for the Important Info.

  5. 2008 June 24

    thanks for the headsup

  6. 2008 June 24

    How do you report such an email to Google?

  7. 2008 June 24
    admin permalink

    when you report it to firefox, under the help link “report web forgery” it goes to Google automatically.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. SCAM ALERT: ICANN UNDER PHISHING ATTACK AND THERE AFTER YOUR DOMAINS | Available Domains - Industry leading domain name news
  2. SCAM ALERT: ICANN UNDER PHISHING ATTACK AND THERE AFTER YOUR DOMAINS | Conning Us

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS